Skip to content

New title, new cover, new life

July 16, 2011
"Of God and Men" book cover

This is the new cover of my book, “God Loves Bakla”, which will be released by Maverick House Publishers internationally in October this year. The new title was chosen by my publisher, who wanted a more accessible, less ethnic-sounding title, and I think it’s a great choice for a title, capturing perfectly the meaning and spirit of my book.

The new cover is fantastic as well. While I liked the original cover of GLB (that’s me in the “Heaven’s Gate” cave at Hoi An in central Vietnam), the new cover is certainly much more classy and professional. The artwork is beautifully done. The open cage suggests a more positive story than my original shadow in a cave. I love the new cover. Kudos to the artists of Maverick House!

The international release of “Of God and Men” has brought new life to this blog, which has been re-titled “Of God, Men and Bakla”. I have come back home to the Philippines after working for ten years in Cambodia (2001-2011) and the reason is that I would like to contribute more actively to the important work of LGBT rights advocacy in the country of my birth. I will report on my plans and activities in more detail in the weeks and months to come. I believe that the issue of equality of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons is the defining issue of our era. “Gay is the new black”, it has been said, and great strides have been made in many Western countries. It’s now time for the Philippines to catch up.

The “new life”, then, refers not just to this blog, but to my own new life, as an openly gay man in my conservative, predominantly Catholic country. I was still in the closet when I left back in November 2001. Ten years later I have changed, my life has changed, and yet I come home to a country that, in many respects, is not much different from the one I escaped ten years ago. But new wine needs new wineskins, so what to do?

Welcome to my new life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 7:06 am

    Hi Ray. You new look for the book looks really good and the way you have shaped its new look. I’m sorry ray that we haven’t been in touch from our lunch together last year. I am in New Zealand dealing with some health issues. But going back to Cambodia next month. I would love to sit a talk with you again. I will always remember your advice. And give or take some health issues your book and advice still inspires me.

    Love always your friend Paddy.

  2. raymondalikpala permalink*
    July 18, 2011 11:27 am

    Hi Paddy! I’ve been wondering how you’ve been, as my occasional text messages to your number have been unanswered. I hope you are well. I’m now back in the Philippines and won’t be in Cambodia anytime soon, but we can still stay in touch online. You know my wish for you, and I hope and pray that God bless you abundantly always. I’m trying to do gay rights advocacy here in my home country and will certainly appreciate your prayers.

    Love always too,
    Raymond

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

